WK 8 – Art Experience – Sketching in the Japanese Garden

IMG_0945.JPG

This week was exciting because we had an art assignment, which took place at one of my favorite places on campus, the Japanese Garden. The Japanese Garden is one of my favorite places on campus because it is one of the most beautiful and relaxing places on campus. Our assignment required us to do different forms of sketches, 10 30 second sketches, a 5 min sketch, contour drawing, representation, and abstract. My favorite part of the assignment was working on the five minute sketch, the 5 min sketch turned out better than I expected. I am not the best at drawing; therefore, I was a little scared of the assignment. It is difficult to sketch when you are always underestimating your own capabilities and comparing your own work to other advanced artist. While doing the 10 30 seconds sketching I wanted to erase them because it always been a habit to erase any “mistakes.” The hardest part of the assignment was to not erase my mistakes, its easy to focus on all the “mistakes” while sketching but doing so will just mess you up even more. From this assignment I learned that nothing will ever be perfect, especially for a 10 second to 5 min sketch. Sketch drawings are not designed to be perfect its about drawing lines and creating 2D and 3D objects with those lines.

This is my five minute sketch, which I am very proud of  because it turned our better than I expected. While I was drawing this I realized how difficult it is to sketch water, and the reflections that it creates. I wish I added more shading and contour into my sketch because it would allow the objects that I drew to look more 3-dimensional. Ultimately, this assignment was a lot of fun and I learned a lot about accepting your “mistakes,” erasing will only hinder your sketches!!

Leave a Reply

